Chocolate Peppermint Christmas Roll

chocolate cake with peppermint buttercream filling and chocolate glaze

I put away the last of my Christmas decorations this past weekend, and it made me so sad that the Christmas season is already over! I always feel like it goes by too fast, but for some reason this year it seemed to FLY! I love baking throughout the year (obviously), but I really love it at Christmas time because of all of the yummy flavors–chocolate, caramel, pumpkin, cranberry, orange. My absolute favorite though is peppermint. So today I’m sharing the Chocolate Peppermint Roll that I made for my office’s Christmas party.

I was super nervous about making this. The only other time I’ve made a roll of any kind was a pumpkin roll for this past Thanksgiving and I didn’t grease or flour the pan enough so it got stuck to the pan and I really had to work to get it out without breaking the cake. I was determined not to let that happen again!

The recipe is from Love Grows Wild (and I must say, her pictures are much better than mine. Goal for next time–better pics! hahaha). The cake takes a little bit of time to make, but it’s worth it because it’s so yummy!

There are 3 parts to the roll: the chocolate cake, the peppermint buttercream and then the glaze.

Chocolate Cake

For the chocolate cake, first I greased and floured a jelly roll pan, then put parchment paper over the bottom of the pan and then floured the parchment paper (I told you, I was determined not to let it get stuck again!). I let the parchment paper overhang the sides of the pan so that I could use it as handles later to lift the cake out of the pan.

greased and floured cake pan so cake will easily come out of it

Then, I preheated the oven to 350 degrees, and put a generous amount of flour onto a kitchen towel so that it would be ready for me to roll the cake into after baking. Then, I put the towel to the side for later.

Next, I sifted together flour, cocoa powder and baking powder. I did this twice and set it aside.

sift flour, cocoa powder and baking powder

Then, I used the whisk attachment on the KitchenAid mixer to beat eggs, sugar, and salt until it was frothy. Next, I added oil and buttermilk until just combined.

whisk eggs, sugar, salt, oil and buttermilk

After that, I mixed the sifted dry ingredients into the wet ingredients, again until just combined.

mix sifted flour and chocolate combo into egg mixture    mixing ingredients

When all that tasty goodness was mixed together, I poured the batter into my prepared pan and baked it for 15 minutes.

Once the cake was done (toothpick inserted into the center will come out clean when it’s done), I let it cool for a few minutes (about 2-3) and then pulled up on the parchment paper to release the cake from the pan, flipped it onto the towel that I had floured earlier and rolled it up into the towel and set it aside to cool.

chocolate cake    roll cake into towel to cool

Buttercream

While the cake was cooling, I made the buttercream filling. Obviously, I had to taste it before I put it onto the cake, and OMG, SO GOOD. I could’ve eaten it with a spoon straight from the bowl.

The buttercream was so easy to make. The only time consuming thing was chopping up the Andes Peppermints (the original recipe calls for the Andes Peppermint Baking Chips but I couldn’t find those so I bought the regular sized mints and chopped them up).

All I did for the buttercream was take butter, heavy cream, vanilla extract, powdered sugar, salt and the peppermints and beat in the stand mixer until smooth. (Seriously, how good does that look?!?)

butter, heavy cream, vanilla, powdered sugar, salt and Andes Peppermints for buttercream frosting    peppermint buttercream filling for chocolate cake roll

Chocolate Glaze

The chocolate glaze was the last step to finishing the cake, as it went on the cake once it was rolled up, but I made it while the cake was still cooling so it’d be ready to go. But, I suppose you could make it after you assembled the cake and rolled it back up.

For the glaze, I heated chocolate chips, heavy cream and vanilla in a microwavable bowl in 15 seconds increments, so as to not burn the chocolate. I stirred the ingredients between increments.

chocolate chips, heavy cream and vanilla for chocolate glaze

Once that was melted and smooth, I added powdered sugar and mixed. Since it was a little thick, I added warm water to thin it out.

chocolate glaze

Finishing the cake

Finally, it was time to assemble the cake. I let the cake cool a little too much though, because it cracked apart a little when I unrolled it. Whoops!

To finish the cake, I first unrolled it from the towel.

Then, I spread the buttercream onto the cake. I got a little too close to the edges though and suggest not doing that, so that it doesn’t ooze out of the sides once rolled again.

chocolate cake with buttercream filling

Once all the buttercream was spread onto the cake, I rolled it back up into a log like shape. Because I let the cake cool too long, I couldn’t make it as tight as I wanted, which annoyed me. And, because I let it cool too long, it cracked a little as I rolled it back up. I was kind of able to push it back together, using the buttercream as a glue.

Once it was rolled up, I put it onto a wire cooling rack and put that inside a baking sheet. (The wire cooling rack is essential here because the glaze will drip off the sides of the cake and you don’t want it to pool at the bottom and get onto the bottom of the cake).Then, I added the chocolate glaze to the top of the cake. Before the glaze was set, while it was still wet, I took some of the chopped up Andes Peppermints that were left over from the buttercream and put them on top of the cake.

chocolate cake with peppermint buttercream filling and chocolate glaze    chocolate peppermint roll with chocolate glaze

Like I said, the roll didn’t turn out as nicely as I hoped, because of that whole letting it cool too long thing. So, it doesn’t look as pretty as it should and could. But, it tasted so good! I recommend only having a little bit though, because it is really rich!

Does anyone who’s made cake rolls before have any tricks for knowing how long to cool it so that it doesn’t break again?

 

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

Leave a Reply

