Holiday M&M Blondies

Final

When I started this blog back in August, I had every intention of keeping up with it and posting at least once a week. But then, life happens and things (work, travel, etc.) got busy and the next thing I know, it’s 2 weeks until Christmas and I haven’t written anything since the end of August.

That’s not to say that I haven’t been baking and cooking and crafting and traveling, because, oh I have. Somehow though, all those things I made and the pictures I took documenting it have just been sitting on my computer. But, that’s about to change.

I will post all of those things that I’ve made while away from my blog, but because I’m staring at my Christmas tree all lit up and listening to Christmas music, and feeling all festive, I’m going to come back to all those other things and instead post the most recent thing I made–Holiday M&Ms Blondies.

I’m hosting book club tomorrow and needed to make a few things to serve while everyone is here. Book club started a few months ago with myself and 5 friends, and so far it’s been a success. Rather than meeting at a bar, or having everyone bring something to share, each month, 1-2 girls host and are in charge of all the food and drink (I actually got this idea from a book club I was in when I lived in DC). It’s nothing extravagant–just a few appetizers or dessert and a drink or two.

Since it’s almost Christmas, I wanted to make “Christmas-y” foods. So tomorrow we’ll have Cranberry and Feta pinwheels, Hot Chocolate, and for dessert–M&M Blondies. I wanted to stay away from a chocolate dessert since we’re having Hot Chocolate and didn’t want there to be chocolate overload.

I got the recipe from Inside BruCrew Life and doubled it (there’s only 6 girls in book club but I plan on taking some to work and some to a holiday party later this week). It’s super easy.

First, I creamed brown sugar and room temperature butter together.

Brown Sugar and Butter

Then, I added eggs and vanilla and beat until combined.

Eggs

Then, I sifted together flour, salt and baking powder.

Flour

Slowly add that to the butter/sugar mixture until combined.

Flour and Sugar

Next, I added in the M&Ms. I love the red and green ones that are sold this time of year! (I know, it looks like A LOT of M&Ms, but remember, I was making 2 batches, and I really don’t think there’s such a thing as too much M&Ms).

M&Ms

Once it was all mixed together, I spread into 2 greased 9×13 pans, and added a few more candies on top (again, I don’t think you can ever have too much).

Prebake

Then, I baked at 350 degrees for 20 minutes, until golden brown around the edges.

They look heavenly, it’s taking all my self control to not eat the entire pan right now.

Final

Don’t forget to check out Inside BruCrew life for the full recipe. What is everyone’s favorite holiday treat? What will be in your kitchen this season?

 

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

Leave a Reply

