Bridal Shower Sugar Cookies

IMG_4423

My sister is getting married in a month and two weeks ago, we celebrated her bridal shower. My aunts organized the whole thing, and it was held at The Shawnee Inn, a place near and dear to my sister’s heart.

Although all of the food was being provided, I decided it would be a great idea to volunteer to make all of the cookies for the shower, and then we could just have an assortment of other desserts there too. When I came up with this brilliant idea, I was hopped up on pain killers after undergoing knee surgery and wasn’t in the clearest of minds. As the shower got closer and closer, a part of me couldn’t help but think, “I volunteered to do what? I have to make and decorate how many cookies? What if they don’t turn out good and then everything is ruined?” I’d be lying if I said I didn’t feel a little bit of pressure because my perfectionist self (at least when it comes to baking) would be scrutinizing everything and would be mad at myself if everything wasn’t perfect. I was so nervous of screwing up that I almost backed out. But, my sister has always been one of my biggest fans when it comes to baking (she seriously asks me all the time when am I going to quit my job and open a bake shop), and so I decided that I would see my drug-infused promise through.

I found the cutest cookie cutters to use from this online shop, Copper Gifts. Originally, I planned on making some cookies look like wedding dresses, some like cakes and some like engagement rings. But, I ended up switching my mind the day that it came time to bake and went with a circle with initials in it instead of the engagement rings. I made about a dozen and a half of each, although when it came time to decorate them, it certainly seemed like more than that! I used my trusty Sugar Cookie recipe (same as the Golf Ball Memorial Day cookies), and a Royal Icing recipe to decorate.

I LOVE this Royal Icing recipe so much more than the one I used in the golf ball post. This one didn’t have any Meringue Powder so they dried shiny and not sticky. Although, I did need a bit more powdered sugar than the recipe called for–when I followed it exactly it was too runny. And, I didn’t use squeeze bottles, just good regular ol’ decorating bags. To color the various batches of frosting, I used Wilton’s gel icing colors. I put a little bit of the color on a toothpick, swirled it into the white frosting and then added more color until I got the color I wanted. I love the gel icing colors because they don’t dilute the consistency of the frosting and a little bit goes a loooong way.

Here’s what I did:

IMG_4411

First, cream 1 cup of butter and 1 cup granulated sugar until smooth

IMG_4412

Then, add in 1 teaspoon of vanilla extract and 1/2 a teaspoon of almond extract and 1 egg and beat until combined

IMG_4410

Next, combine 2 teaspoons baking powder and 3 cups of all-purpose flour in a separate bowl and add a little at a time to the sugar, butter, extract, egg mixture until it’s all mixed in. The dough will be thick by the end.

Then, roll out the dough in sections on a floured surface, making it about 1/4 inch thick and cut using your cutters and bake at 350 degrees for 8 minutes.

IMG_4416 IMG_4418

I totally forgot to take pictures of the rolled cookie dough but here are the dresses and cakes before getting decorated.

After they were completely cool, I whipped up some royal icing and started decorating. I outlined all the cookies first with white border icing and then went back and filled them in with flood icing.

I apologize for not having pictures of the decorating process, but it was a bit messy, as I was switching between colors. Not to mention time consuming, as I had almost 60 cookies to decorate and was trying to work fast!

IMG_4420 IMG_4422 IMG_4424

But, here’s the finished project. I kept it simple, just thin green lines across the cake with pink dots to look like flowers, a silver “sash” on the dresses with pink dots, and then a C (for my sister’s first name) and Z (for her fiancee’s first name) on the circle cookies.

After I let them dry on the counter overnight (about 12 hours in total), I put each cookie into a treat bag and arranged them on a tray for transport. Word to the wise: Don’t try and lean the dresses up, they will break at the waist. Luckily, only a few bent before I realized this. Instead, just lay them flat.

I’m happy to report that the cookies were a hit. Everyone told me how great they looked and took some home after the shower. I could tell that my sister appreciated it, as she said so many times. And my cousin jokingly (maybe not so jokingly) asked if she could hire me for her upcoming wedding. So, that’s a good sign, right? Maybe that pain killer-infused promise wasn’t such a bad thing.

 

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

Leave a Reply

