Memorial Day Golf Ball Sugar Cookies

Golf Ball Cookies

Memorial Day is my 3rd favorite holiday, behind Christmas and Thanksgiving. I know, it seems odd, most people wouldn’t pick it as a favorite. But, for my family and me, it’s a big deal. Every Memorial Day weekend for the last 31 years, my parents have hosted a golf tournament. What started off as an idea between my dad and his handful of friends to make sure that they all got together at least once a year, has turned into a full-blown, weekend-long, 50+ people affair.

It starts with golfing on Sunday morning and culminates in a picnic at my parents, complete with plenty of food, beer, and an awards ceremony. The awards are typically joke awards that are relevant to things that have taken place in the last year, the winner gets a horrible plaid jacket that they have to wear throughout the year (unlike the Masters’ jacket, this isn’t one that you’re dying to win. It’s from the 70s and hasn’t been washed since. It was found in my grandfather’s closet when my dad decided to throw this bash together all those years ago).

When I say I love this day, I’m not exaggerating. Family, friends, laughter, it’s what life is all about. By the time the weekend rolls around, I’m so excited to see everyone.

Because of the number of people who attend, everyone brings a dish to the picnic, so as to alleviate some of the cooking that my mom has to do. The past few years, I’ve tried to make something golf themed. A few years ago it was a cake that looked like a golf course, after that, donuts that looked like they were sitting on a green. I did deviate last year and made star cookies that were red, white and blue that were then made into a flag (it is Memorial Day after all, let’s not forget the real reason for the 3-day weekend). This year, I wanted to make the cookies again but make them golf related. And that’s when I remembered this adorable picture that I had found on Pinterest.

Screen Shot 2015-08-09 at 9.15.55 PM

So cute, right? I can totally recreate that, maybe just a little less complicated (and just the golf balls, not the “course”), I thought to myself. And it wasn’t too hard to do either!

I used a basic sugar cookie recipe that I found from In Katrina’s Kitchen. I love it because you don’t have to chill the dough like other sugar cookie recipes. Such a time saver! And her suggestion of using almond extract too—AMAZING! I would’ve never thought of that, it’s delicious without being overly almond-y. SOOO GOOD. Seriously, you need to make them.

I forgot to take a picture of the dough making process, but here’s the finished product.

I used a 4 inch circle cookie cutter to make the golf ball shapes.

IMG_3250

Once the cookies were cooled completely, I whipped up a batch of Wilton’s Royal Icing.IMG_3254

This is not the recipe that I used last year for the Star cookies, and I was totally bummed that I couldn’t find that one again because I loved it. It involved egg whites, not Meringue Powder. But, I figured I’d give this one a try.

To decorate the cookies, I outline the circles with border icing, then added a little bit more water to make flood icing and completely fill in the circles with white.

IMG_3255

While the white icing was still wet, I put grey dots into the white.

IMG_3256

Then, I added white circles on top of the grey to make them look indented like real golf balls.

IMG_3257

Finally, I added some green to the bottom to make it look like they were sitting on grass. Initially, I just grew swiggly lines across the bottom. I didn’t like the way it look at all. It was too clumpy and messy.

IMG_3259

My sister had the brilliant idea to draw a green line across the bottom, and then draw just a few lines up from that and spread it around with a little tool to thicken it up. I LOVED that. Sometimes listening to your older sister can be a good thing!

IMG_3261 IMG_3262 IMG_3265

To be honest, I didn’t love the Wilton’s Royal Icing recipe. I’m not sure if I did something wrong, but after 36 hours of drying, they were still sticky and too chewy. They didn’t harden like the one last year. It wasn’t bad, just not what I wanted.

But, I have to admit, the cookies did turn out cute! They were a huge hit at the party too!

IMG_3298

 

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

One thought on “Memorial Day Golf Ball Sugar Cookies

Leave a Reply

