Healthy Two Ingredient “Cookies”

 

IMG_3710

Recently, I did something that I swore I’d never do when baking. I made healthy cookies. That’s right, healthy, clean-eating, no sugar, no oil, no eggs cookies. Do they really count as cookies if it’s missing all that stuff? Jury’s still out on that, but the end result was tasty.

Why healthy cookies, you ask? Well, as much as I love baking, I can’t be eating a ton of cookies every week. Well, I could, but then I’d have to spend hours at the gym, and who really wants to do that? And, with my sister’s wedding coming up in September, I need to look good in my dress! (Totally vain, I know, but what girl doesn’t have that thought)?

I had some bananas sitting around that were just slightly too ripe and I needed something to do with them. I remembered seeing a recipe on Pinterest that called for cookies made with bananas and oatmeal. So obviously I went and found it and whipped up some cookies. Thanks to The Burlap Bag for the recipe!

It’s so easy:

Take 2 ripe bananas and mash them

IMG_3698

Then mix in a cup of oats

IMG_3699 IMG_3703

Then mix in whatever add-ins you want. I used mini chocolate chip cookies

IMG_3704

Finally, using a 1/2 Tablespoon measure, I plopped the cookies onto a greased baking sheet and put them in the oven at 350 degrees for 15 minutes.

IMG_3706

I was a little nervous at first about how the cookies would taste. Also, I call them cookies, but given the size, they were really more like “bites.” No matter what you call them, they were DELICIOUS! They were moist and chewy and so tasty. I felt like I was eating a real cookie, but didn’t feel guilty about it. Double win!!

IMG_3710

Next time, I think I’m going to add in some cinnamon, nutmeg and raisin to make them like an oatmeal raisin cookie.

Anyone else have any ideas for mix-ins?

 

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

2 thoughts on “Healthy Two Ingredient “Cookies”

Leave a Reply

